Channel Madness: Scale’s Mann Outpacing HP’s Lannum In ‘Battle Of The Scotts’

Jennifer Follett

Several channel chiefs have work to do to gain ground in early voting of CRN Channel Madness Round 2 voting.


We’re a little more than 24 hours into Round 2 voting of the 2022 CRN Channel Madness Tournament of Chiefs, and the Solutions 16 are battling it out for a chance to push into the Enterprise 8.

The Hardware region is hosting one of the most closely watched matchups of the tournament so far, where a “Battle of the Scotts” is shaping up between Scott Mann of Scale Computing and Scott Lannum of HP Inc. This is a rematch of last year’s Round 1 contest, which saw Mann emerge as the victor. Mann is currently in the lead with 61 percent of the vote to Lannum’s 39 percent.

Among tournament rookies, Microsoft’s Rodney Clark and CyCognito’s Lori Cornmesser are both showing strong game plans. Clark is out to an early lead in his matchup with 2020 Channel Madness Champion Kevin Rooney with 68 percent of the vote to Rooney’s 32 percent. Cornmesser looks solid with 71 percent of the vote against Kendra Krause of Sophos at 29 percent.

A number of other channel chiefs throughout the bracket have established lopsided leads over opponents who are still trying to get their fan bases riled up. Here’s a look at the results so far:



Rob Rae, Datto, 81 percent vs. George Hope, Hewlett Packard Enterprise, 19 percent

Shannon Sbar, Schneider Electric, 74 percent vs. Rob Cato, Lenovo, 26 percent


Scott Mann, Scale Computing, 61 percent vs. Scott Lannum, HP Inc., 39 percent

Donna Grothjan, Aruba, an HPE company, 92 percent vs. Richard Vaughn, Dynabook Americas, 8 percent


Kevin Rooney, Veeam Software, 32 percent vs. Rodney Clark, Microsoft, 68 percent

Bob Lord, IBM, 17 percent vs. Jeff McCullough, SolarWinds, 83 percent


Michael Rogers, CrowdStrike, 7 percent vs. Frank Rauch, Check Point Software Technologies, 93 percent

Lori Cornmesser, CyCognito, 71 percent vs. Kendra Krause, Sophos, 29 percent

Voting in Round 2 will remain open until Tuesday, March 29 at noon ET. Visit to cast your votes and choose your chief!

Sponsored Post